Iglesias Old Town

DISCOVER THE HISTORICAL CENTER OF IGLESIAS WITH OUR GUIDES Starting point: Iglesias Tourism Office, Piazza Municipio, 1, 09016 Iglesias SU Duration: 1 hour Explore the historical center of Iglesias on foot with our tour guides. Iglesias represents the testimony of a glorious past, that of a city formerly known as the Villa di Chiesa. Take […]

Bishop’s palace

Palazzo Vescovile (Bishop’s Palace) overlooks Piazza Municipio and is connected by a gallery to the Cathedral of Santa Chiara. The first design for the episcopal palace was drawn up in 1763 by the Piedmontese military engineer Saverio Belgrano, among the first to spread in the island the architectural innovations with which the architects of the […]

Town Hall

The building is located in the heart of the historic center, in a central position with respect to the original perimeter of the medieval walls. It was built by the Vincenzo Sulcis company, between 1871 and 1872 based on the design by the civic engineer Antonio Cao Pinna. This architectural feature goes back to one […]

Piazza Lamarmora

Piazza Lamarmora represents the intersection point of different roads and streets of the historic center and has always been the most important meeting point for the citizens of Iglesias. The square is characterized by the fountain called “Su Maimoni”, a recent reconstruction that replicates an ancient public fountain that stood in the square until 1872, […]

Piazza Sella and Piazza Oberdan

Piazza Sella, with its benches and huge flowerbeds surrounding centuries-old trees, plays a central role both socially as a meeting point and for the traffic in Cagliari. The first urban development of the square extended from 1841 to 1885, with progressive enlargements between 1909 and 1914 that defined its square plan. In the center of […]

The ancient walls and the Guelfa tower

The ancient walls of Iglesias are the ruins of medieval fortifications surrounding the current historic center of the city. In the past, the walls were interspersed with 23 towers and 4 gateways: Porta Maestra to the south, Porta Castello to the southeast, Porta Sant’Antonio to the north, and Porta Nuova to the west; the gateways […]

Salvaterra Castle

The castle of Salvaterra, known in the past as the castle of San Guantino, was built in the medieval period, after 1258, probably by the will of Count Ugolino Della Gherardesca. Built on the Salvaterra hill, from which it takes its name, at the time it had a strategic position that allowed it to oversee […]

Monumental Cemetery

The Monumental Cemetery of Iglesias, inaugurated on August 20, 1835, was built near the Church of Beata Vergine Maria di Valverde, outside the city walls. Due to the progressive increase in the population, it was found to be insufficient and was subsequently expanded several times starting from 1850. Thanks also to the contribution of the […]

Cloister of San Francesco

The church and convent of San Francesco are among the most interesting and precious testimonies left by the Frati Minori Conventuali (Order of Friars Minor Conventuals) in Sardinia. The cloister was an open space surrounded by four sides of porticos. The convent incorporates several wings developed on the model of open loggias on the ground […]

Asproni Mining Institute

The Istituto Minerario “Giorgio Asproni” (Giorgio Asproni Mining Institute) was established in 1871 by the will of Minister Quintino Sella, a statesman who gave a strong boost to the mining activities in the Iglesias area at that time. The deputy believed it was necessary to provide the city, which was then at the peak of […]